Books

The Case Of The Irate Witness

The Case Of The Irate Witness Contains four short stories The Case of the Irate Witness The Jewelled Butterfly Something Like a Pelican and A Man is Missing

  • Title: The Case Of The Irate Witness
  • Author: Erle Stanley Gardner
  • ISBN: 9780688001025
  • Page: 300
  • Format: None
  • Contains four short stories The Case of the Irate Witness, The Jewelled Butterfly, Something Like a Pelican, and A Man is Missing.

    • Best Read [Erle Stanley Gardner] ↠ The Case Of The Irate Witness || [Fantasy Book] PDF Ò
      300 Erle Stanley Gardner
    • thumbnail Title: Best Read [Erle Stanley Gardner] ↠ The Case Of The Irate Witness || [Fantasy Book] PDF Ò
      Posted by:Erle Stanley Gardner
      Published :2020-06-26T21:59:26+00:00

    About "Erle Stanley Gardner"

    1. Erle Stanley Gardner

      Erle Stanley Gardner was an American lawyer and author of detective stories who also published under the pseudonyms A.A Fair, Kyle Corning, Charles M Green, Carleton Kendrake, Charles J Kenny, Les Tillray, and Robert Parr.Innovative and restless in his nature, he was bored by the routine of legal practice, the only part of which he enjoyed was trial work and the development of trial strategy In his spare time, he began to write for pulp magazines, which also fostered the early careers of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler He created many different series characters for the pulps, including the ingenious Lester Leith, a gentleman thief in the tradition of Raffles, and Ken Corning, a crusading lawyer who was the archetype of his most successful creation, the fictional lawyer and crime solver Perry Mason, about whom he wrote than eighty novels With the success of Perry Mason, he gradually reduced his contributions to the pulp magazines, eventually withdrawing from the medium entirely, except for non fiction articles on travel, Western history, and forensic science.See at enpedia wiki Erle_Sta

    878 Comments

    1. I thoroughly enjoyed this collection! One short Perry Mason mystery-ette, and three other short mysteries, each with a different investigative character. This was actually my first introduction to Lester Leith, and I enjoyed him (and his story) enough that I will seek out some of his other heists!I was actually really surprised, because the Jeweled Butterfly did not read like an Erle Stanley Gardner story, and I don't mean that in either a good or a bad way, simply that it had a different tone a [...]


    2. #85 in the Perry Mason series. 4 novelettes including Author Gardner's only short story featuring Perry Mason. The stories originally appeared between 1942 and 1953 before being collected in this 1970 compilation. In addition to Perry Mason, Lester Leith is a protagonist who has appeared in other works by Gardner. Stories are all different but enjoyable.Contains four short stories: 1. 'The Case of the Irate Witness (1953),' After being stopped at a police roadblock checking on a robbery in Jebso [...]


    3. (3.2) (Again, I didn't read the whole book, just the Perry Mason story)Perry's goodness gets him invovled in a trial, where he proves the client innocent due to looking at the situation logically.Recommended 11+ for robbery and maybe some language


    4. Even though I liked Gardner's Perry Mason novels, I enjoyed these short stories a lot more. I guess Gardner's short story writing style fits my tastes better. Published posthumously, this is a collection of four of Gardner's short stories. The first, The Case of the Irate Witness, is a Perry Mason gem. Short, quick, and clever. Next we have The Jeweled Butterfly. It is longer, more of a novella, and features an amateur female detective, Peggy Castle. "What," you say? "A female detective?" Yes, y [...]


    5. This book has 4 stories. Only the first one, "The Case of the Irate Witness" starred Perry Mason, Della Street and Paul Drake, so it was quite interesting to read 3 different stories by the same author. I really enjoyed them all.


    6. Well lets just say that I find the full fledged novels of Mr Gardner better than this short story collection.The short stories are good but none that you would remember. His novels are more engrossing and this collection hasn't got Perry Mason and Della Street to keep you hooked.


    7. Short and to the point It was a pretty basic story - and felt more like a plot synopsis than a short story.


    Leave a Comment